Usage of /me and /do

Stinkywinky

Now I've been roleplaying with LSRP community since 2007, I'm not sure where this has changed but I've seen an increasing amount of RP that doesn't meet the criteria of /me.

For example 

The other day I experienced - /me thinks he has a headache. 

Now for me, that is a misuse of /me. The way I was brought into LSRP was /me is an action and /do Is used to explain something that is in front of you or your appearance. Here are a few examples

/me reaches down to tie his shoelace as he peers up to Michael Hill.

/do Francis would be wearing a pair of Clarkes shoes that are pristine black leather.

Now I understand the world evolves and roleplay evolves but I think /me's and /do's are constantly being misused. I'm not here to slate other people roleplay but it would be nice to clear up what people think /me and do's should be used for.

• Thumbs 1

Personally, I think a lot of communication can be lost without being truly face-to-face, 

And without intonation and other audible cues to determine intent, sarcasm, state of mind, among other things, I think, having certain things in your /me that can perhaps give off obvious body language, without specifically describing that body language

For example, “/me thinks he’s hot shit.” or something after a comment your character states can really drive home the tone and body language that character is using without having to write out a lot.

It’s a matter of knowing when, and how to use it. Though, I do understand where you’re coming from.

YBYvD4O.gif Qe0qceV.gif

THE BILINGSGATE MISFITS

As Above, So Below - KIEREN LEDBETTER

Spoiler

Hall of Fame

0YMEIUs.png

zbNHczV.png

HITYFrc.png

IttpHWy.png

QzHrrQR.png

27ca0f64b7.png

fe1c89c70f.png

0Bf0K91.png

vUa21sx.png